Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten (Eight) Books to Read If You Like Lost (The TV Show)

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a fantastic meme hosted and created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Okay, so I’m a huge survival fan lately.  Like.. it’s what I crave in my books and it’s killing me that I can’t get to certain books due to other commitments (I’m looking at you, The Martian).  But I have read my fair share of survival stories so check these books out if you, like me, love a good snail and grub dinner… okay, not really that last part, but still!  I’m a bit tired, so I’ve only come up with eight good titles (that fit the theme of Lost anyway!) so here we go -

1. Shaman by Kim Stanley Robinson

It doesn’t get more survivalist than this.  This is the most recent of the survivor type stories that I’ve read and it thoroughly gripped me – I was entranced throughout the whole thing and… how cool is it that it’s set in the ice age??

2. The Mysterious Island by Jules Verne

This book always ends up on my Top Ten Tuesday posts – I think it’s because it’s a favorite of mine.  The ultimate in survival guides, Verne applies his scientific knowledge (and primate knowledge) and creates a fantastic tale.

3.  Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss

I don’t know that it’s really PC these days to love this book, but I grew up with it and I remember watching the old Disney movie and wishing I, too, could live in a treehouse.  There’s no denying that it’s a heck of a story.

4. Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs

Another not really popular author in literature classes, still Tarzan is quite the story.  My dad is a huge fan of this series and had me reading them when I was young as well (and when I was a teenager – hey, I grew up in a very strict household, this was as racy as it got for me, folks!)

5. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

Not a fiction book, but still – a pretty epic tale of survival.  This story was hyped so much that I was worried it wouldn’t stand up to all the talk, but it did and I loved it.

6. Lost in Shangri-La by Mitchell Zuckoff

Speaking of non-fiction, here’s another one that really hit me in the right spot.  While the ending is heart-breaking, the story of survival told here is a fascinating one, and one we can all learn a lesson from.

7. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

This one needs no explanation (but have you noticed now that there are THREE Robinson’s on my list?  Strange).

8. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Yup, I’m throwing some science fiction into the mix – because I love Atwood and I love this trilogy.

What books have you read with that great survivor feel??

Facebook Twitter Digg Delicious Reddit Email

4 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten (Eight) Books to Read If You Like Lost (The TV Show)

  1. OH! I did survival too! Great minds think alike, right?! ;) I love survival books and I haven’t read a single one on your list so looks like I have some reading to do! haha! My TTT!

  2. I love Lost, especially seasons 4 and 5! I read an abridged version of Swiss Family robinson in elementary school and I thought it was pretty cool. Oryx and Crake is amazing! Margaret Atwood is one of my favorite authors.

    – Kritika @ <a href="http://spidersilksnowflakes.blogspot.com

  3. I love Lost, especially seasons 4 and 5! I read an abridged version of Swiss Family robinson in elementary school and I thought it was pretty cool. Oryx and Crake is amazing! Margaret Atwood is one of my favorite authors.

    – Kritika @ Snowflakes & Spider Silk

  4. that’s a great list–I’m a fan of the show Survivor. kelley—the road goes ever ever on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Bear