Book Review: When She Woke by Hillary Jordan

When She Woke by Hillary Jordan
Published by HarperCollins UK on 2012-04-12
Genres: Fiction, General, Literary, Psychological
Pages: 400
Format: eBook

Hannah Payne is a RED. Her crime: MURDER. And her victim, says the state of Texas, was her unborn child. Lying on a table in a bare room, covered by only a paper gown, Hannah awakens to a nightmare. Cameras broadcast her every move to millions at home, for whom observing new Chromes – criminals whose skin has been genetically altered to match the class of their crime – is a sinister form of entertainment. Hannah refuses to reveal the identity of her father. But cast back into a world that has marked her for life, how far will she go to protect the man she loves? An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER.

I received this book for free from Algonquin Books in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This was an interesting one for me. I was reminded heavily of Margaret Atwood’s “The Handmaid’s Tale” all the way through this book, but there’s enough there that’s different that made this an unputdownable story for me.

I’m always interested in what prompts an author to write a story, and for this one, Hillary Jordan gives us a bit of insight in the final section of this book – and of course, it comes from a “what if?” moment. I can’t see the ultra conservatives in my circle being thrilled with the story here (then again, they probably wouldn’t be thrilled with Atwood’s either), but some of the things Jordan wrote about when describing Hannah’s journey had me shivering from dread – it’s quite realistic and very likely, should certain individuals get their way.

Overall, interesting book and definitely draws you in. I was disappointed in the ending, but by that point, I had already been hooked.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *